contact staff ecs twitter facebook

Document Number: 5488

Maryland Assessment of Fine Arts Education: State-of-the-Art in Large-Scale Fine Arts Assessments - With the movement toward educational accountability in states and the administration of the 1997 NAEP Arts Assessment, nine states (i.e., Illinois, Kentucky, Maine, Minnesota, Missouri, New Jersey, New York, Oklahoma and Washington) have been mandated to administer assessments in the arts to students. An additional seven states (i.e., Alaska, California, Massachusetts, Ohio, Pennsylvania, Utah and Vermont) are encouraging activities in fine arts assessment at the local level. This report highlights the essential characteristics of large-scale assessments in the fine arts for both groups of states. The purpose of this review is to provide (1) a current picture of arts assessment at the national level and (2) a more detailed description of the latest progress at the state level in standards-based, large-scale arts assessments in the United States. The focus of this survey of state assessments is multifold: to examine each state's arts assessment instrument and implementation, the impact of arts assessment on school/district accountability systems, and the lessons and experiences that can be learned by Maryland in developing their own assessment. (Prepared for the Maryland Department of Education by Jean Yan and Sandra Rieder, Westat, October 2001) ...

Related Issues


Home  |  About ECS  |  Education Issues A-Z  | Research Studies  |  Reports & Databases  |  State Legislation  |  State Profiles  |  Projects & Institutes  |  Newsroom  |  Website User's Guide
700 Broadway, #810 Denver, CO 80203-3442
Phone: 303.299.3600 | Fax: 303.296.8332
©2015 Education Commission of the States |
Read our privacy policy