National Forum Header


ECS logo
2008 ECS National Forum
on Education Policy.

June 30 - July 2 at the
Renaissance Austin Hotel in Austin, Texas.

See Current Media Coverage and Press Releases

Download Session Resources


Highlights from Monday, June 30

2008-10 ECS Vice Chair Barbara Clark visits with College Board President Gaston Caperton.

North Dakota Lt. Governor Jack Dalrymple enjoys a moment with others from his home state prior to accepting the Frank Newman Award for State Innovation.

2006-08 ECS Chair and Kansas Governor Kathleen Sebelius congratulates Tim Earnest, executive vice president of the Simon Youth Foundation, winner of the ECS Corporate Award.

photo 2
Sam Chaltain, Five Freedoms Project executive director, facilitating a discussion on student leadership.

photo 1
Student leaders and school officials developing action plans for student civic engagement.

photo 3
Student leaders, Jennifer Schafer and Brittany Trice serve as masters of ceremoy for the Education Leadership Colloquium.

photo 4
ECS Project Manager Tiffani Lennon delivers the keynote address on workforce and civic development at the Education Leadership Colloquium.

Manor New Tech High School extends warm welcome to ECS National Forum attendees.

Leaders from across the education spectrum gathered to learn more about the success of Austin's Manor New Tech H.S.

Texas Commissioner of Education Robert Scott comments on what must change to improve high schools across the country.

ECS Commissioner and former principal of Thomas Jefferson High School for Science and Technology in Virginia asks a question of the panel.


Manor New Tech High School students enjoying sharing what makes their school unique.


Highlights from Tuesday, July 1

U.S. Department of Education Secretary Margaret Spellings announces states approved to use differentiated accountability under NCLB at the ECS National Forum.

Leaders from across the United States gathered in Austin, Texas to discuss ways education can transforms America's high schools with a special focus on Manor New Tech High School.

High school students shared the success story of Manor New Tech High.

ECS would like to congratulate the 2008 State Teachers of the Year. We are very proud and grateful to have many of these extraordinary individuals with us at this year's National Forum on Education Policy.

Kansas Governor and 2006-08 ECS Chair, Kathleen Sebelius presiding at the first plenary session.

Texas Secretary of State Phil Wilson, U.S. Department of Education Secretary Margaret Spellings, ECS President Roger Sampson, and Kansas Governor and 2006-08 ECS Chair Kathleen Sebelius on the morning of opening day.

Highlights from Wednesday, July 2

photo 1
25 years after the federal "A Nation At Risk" report was published, a panel of national experts discuss America's progress.

photo 2
Vicki Phillips, director of the Education Division of The Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation, shares the Foundation's lessons learned from years working to improve education and the implications for their strategy moving forward.

photo 3
Governor Tim Pawlenty honors Ron Wolk, chairman of the Big Picture Company and founder of Education Week, with the 2008 James Bryant Conant Award.

photo 4
Kansas Governor Kathleen Sebelius passes along the ECS chairmanship to Minnesota Governor Tim Pawlenty.

photo 5
Sharon Lynn Kagan leads at the Governors' Symposia on Early Learning and the Early Grades.

photo 6
Conference attendees enjoy downtown Austin, Texas.


Home  |  About ECS  |  Education Issues A-Z  | Research Studies  |  Reports & Databases  |  State Legislation  |  State Profiles  |  Projects & Institutes  |  Newsroom  |  Website User's Guide
700 Broadway, #810 Denver, CO 80203-3442
Phone: 303.299.3600 | Fax: 303.296.8332
©2015 Education Commission of the States |
Read our privacy policy