National Forum Header

National Forum Home Page


Online Registration is now closed

National Forum Newsroom

Austin and Travel

Session Resources

Contact Us

National Forum Sponsors

National Forum Archives

ECS Home Page

View/print entire program
Create your own custom program
Monday, June 30, 2008

10:00 AM -- 2:00 PM
Media/Press Office (session #115)

10:00 AM -- 5:30 PM
National Forum Registration Desk (session #105)

12:00 PM -- 5:30 PM
Cyber Cafe (session #125)

1:00 PM -- 5:00 PM
High School Transformation Forum (session #150)
The second annual high school tour will provide attendees the opportunity to visit Manor New Tech High School, one of the Texas Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics (T-STEM) academies funded through the Texas High School Project. The Texas High School Project is a multimillion dollar public/private partnership dedicated to transforming high schools in the state of Texas on a large scale. The event will include the opportunity to meet with representatives from the Texas High School Project who will describe how the state of Texas, the foundation community and the business community are working together to create outstanding high schools throughout the state. In addition, school district, state and community leaders who made Manor New Tech High School a reality will lead attendees on a tour of their facility. They will share how they are providing a high-quality education experience for students and contributing to the local economy through a partnership with Samsung, who helped build this new facility in the community.


Lori M. Fey, Senior Program Officer, Michael and Susan Dell Foundation, Texas

John Fitzpatrick, Executive Director, Texas High School Project, Communities Foundation of Texas, Texas

Robert Scott, Commissioner of Education, Texas Education Agency, Texas; member, ECS Steering Committee and ECS Commissioner

6:00 PM -- 7:30 PM
Opening Welcome Reception at Hotel (session #180)
Dr. Charles L. Cotrell, president of St. Mary’s University in San Antonio, Texas will present the 2008 Frank Newman Leadership Award to Scott Meltzer from Centre College in Kentucky and Heather Stump from Mount Union College in Ohio.


Charles L. Cotrell Ph.D., President, St. Mary's University, Texas

Jack Dalrymple, Lieutenant Governor & President of the Senate, North Dakota

Tim Earnest, Senior Vice President & Director, Simon Management Group & Simon Property Group, Simon Youth Foundation, Indiana

Doug Johnson, Executive Director, North Dakota Council of Educational Leaders, North Dakota; ECS Commissioner

RaeAnn G. Kelsch, Chair, House Education Committee, North Dakota; member, ECS Steering Committee, ECS Commissioner, ECS Executive Committee and ECS Nominating Committee

Warren Larson, Superintendent, Williston Public School District #1, North Dakota; ECS Commissioner

Home  |  About ECS  |  Education Issues A-Z  | Research Studies  |  Reports & Databases  |  State Legislation  |  State Profiles  |  Projects & Institutes  |  Newsroom  |  Website User's Guide
700 Broadway, #810 Denver, CO 80203-3442
Phone: 303.299.3600 | Fax: 303.296.8332
©2015 Education Commission of the States |
Read our privacy policy