contact staff ecs twitter facebook
NCLCE National Center for Learning and Civic Engagement
Every Student a Citizen
Schools of Success
News and Events
Projects & Funders
Past Projects
State Policies for Service-Learning Database
Civics Assessment Database
Civics Education Database
Related ECS Issue Sites:
Civics Education
Citizenship Matters Logo
Network News

Contact Information:
National Center for Learning and Civic Engagement at ECS
700 Broadway, Suite 810
Denver, CO 80203-3442
Phone: 303.299.3608
FAX: 303.296.8332

Paul Baumann

Lisa Guilfoile
Project Leader

National Center for Learning and Civic Engagement Board

The NCLCE is governed by an executive board that includes chief state school officers, district superintendents, and representatives from policy and community-based organizations across the country. The Board meets a minimum of two times each year.  
Executive Committee

Glenys Hill Rada, NCLCE Chair
Director, Field Based Superintendent Certification Program, Washington State University

With more than 40 years of work in education to her credit, Dr. Hill Rada retired from her role as superintendent of the Kelso School District in 2011. She has been a member of the NCLCE Board since 2004 and currently works as an education consultant.

Twyla Barnes, Chair-elect
Superintendent of Schools, Educational Service District 112, Vancouver, Wash.

Steve Hefner, Past Chair
Superintendent, School District Five of Lexington and Richland Counties (Irmo, SC)

Executive Board Members

Lyla Berg
Hawai'i State Coordinator, The Center for Civic Education and Kids Voting Hawai'i, Honolulu, Hawai'i

Sheldon Berman
Superintendent of Schools, Eugene School District 4J, Eugene, Oregon

John Bonaiuto
Executive Director, Nebraska Association of School Boards, Lincoln, Nebraska

Elizabeth "Libby" Burmaster
President, Nicolet Area Technical College, Rhinelander, Wisconsin

William Cirone
Superintendent of Schools, Santa Barbara County, California

Barbara Clark
Assemblywoman, New York Assembly, Queens Village, New York

Randall Collins

Executive Director, District Administration Leadership Institute, Connecticut

Delaine Eastin
Former Superintendent of Public Instruction, California
Consultant/Speaker, Delaine Eastin Consulting, California

Maurice Green
Superintendent, Guilford County Schools, Greensboro, North Carolina

Doug Hart

Former Representative, Michigan House of Representatives
Educator, Prague, Czech Republic

Marilyn Howard

Former Superintendent of Public Instruction, Idaho

William Hughes
Director of Leadership Development, Schools that Can, Milwaukee, Wisconsin

Roger Rada

Interim Superintendent, Tigard-Tualatin School District, Oregon

Suellen Reed

Former Superintendent of Public Instruction, Indiana

Home  |  About ECS  |  Education Issues A-Z  | Research Studies  |  Reports & Databases  |  State Legislation  |  State Profiles  |  Projects & Institutes  |  Newsroom  |  Website User's Guide
700 Broadway, #810 Denver, CO 80203-3442
Phone: 303.299.3600 | Fax: 303.296.8332
©2015 Education Commission of the States |
Read our privacy policy