Executive Board

NCLCE is governed by an executive board of state and district education leaders who believe that schools have an important role in preparing students for full participation in civic life. The Executive Board provides vision and guidance to our work as we support the creation and success of state civic learning and engagement policies and programs.

Executive Committee

Maurice “Mo” Green, Chair
Executive Director, Z. Smith Reynolds Foundation, Winston-Salem, N.C.
Maurice “Mo” Green is the executive director of the Z. Smith Reynolds Foundation and Co-Lead for the Strengthening Democracy portfolio. Mo works alongside Trustees and staff to spearhead the Foundation’s efforts to improve the quality of life for all North Carolinians. He also works with leaders in the private, public and nonprofit sectors to develop best practices, respond to challenges and opportunities, and generate strategies that will advance the future of North Carolina. Mo joined the Foundation in March 2016 after completing more than seven years as superintendent of Guilford County Schools – the third largest school district in North Carolina – where he oversaw more than 72,000 students, 127 schools, approximately 10,000 employees and a budget of more than $600 million. Mo has received numerous accolades over the years and has served in prominent leadership roles on a number of boards across the state. His exemplary leadership, proven contributions and demonstrated success have positioned him to help shape and carry out a vision for the Foundation and for North Carolina. Mo is a longtime resident of North Carolina. He is married and has two children.

Sheldon Berman, Chair-elect
Superintendent of Schools, Andover School District, Andover, Mass.

Twila Barnes, Past Chair
Retired Superintendent of Schools, Education Service District 112, Vancouver, Wash.

Executive Board Members

Lyla Berg
Founder, Kids Voting Hawai’i/We Vote Hawaii
Author/Keynote Speaker/Resiliency Consultant, Lyla Berg & Associates, Hawai’i

John Bonaiuto
Executive Director, Nebraska Association of School Boards, Lincoln, Neb.

Tod Bowman
Senator, Iowa State Senate, Des Moines, Iowa

Elizabeth “Libby” Burmaster
President, Frederick Community College, Frederick, Md.

Barbara Cegavske
Secretary of State, State of Nevada, Carson City, Nev.

William Cirone
Superintendent of Schools, Santa Barbara County, Calif.

Sondra Erickson
Representative, Minnesota House of Representatives

Stephen Hefner
Superintendent, School District Five of Lexington and Richland Counties, Irmo, S.C.

Glenys Hill Rada
Director, Washington State University Superintendent Preparation Program

Marilyn Howard
Former Superintendent of Public Instruction, Idaho

William Hughes
Chief Academic Officer, Seton Catholic Schools, Wisconsin

Kimberly Lightford
Senator, Illinois State Senate

Richard Moore
Massachusetts Assisted Living Facilities Association, Waltham, Mass.

Roger Rada
Leadership Consultant, Northwest Leadership Associates

Mindy Romero
Director, California Civic Engagement Project, University of California, Davis, Calif.

Suellen Reed
Former Superintendent of Public Instruction, Indiana