AWARDS

Each year at the National Forum on Education Policy, Education Commission of the States presents awards to persons, states and organizations that have made significant contributions to public education.

JAMES BRYANT CONANT AWARD

Named for the co-founder of Education Commission of the States and former president of Harvard University, the James Bryant Conant Award recognizes outstanding individual contributions to American education. The award was established in 1977 to memorialize Conant, a pivotal figure in the education reforms of the 1950s and



'60s that continue to shape schools today. The honor is bestowed upon individuals whose efforts and service create a pronounced and lasting influence on American education and have demonstrated a commitment to improving education across the country in significant ways such as:

- Provided leadership on groundbreaking task forces or committees.
- Published works and/or conducted research that profoundly influenced thinking on public education in the United States and/or had a substantial impact on policy.
- Shepherded groundbreaking education reform through the legislative process.
- Demonstrated exemplary service as a public figure or elected official deeply involved in improving education for all.

FRANK NEWMAN AWARD FOR STATE INNOVATION

The Frank Newman Award for State Innovation recognizes states and territories for enacting innovative education reforms or implementing innovative programs that go beyond marginal or incremental changes to improve student outcomes on a large scale. In 2005, the award was renamed in honor of the late Frank Newman, who served as president of Education Commission of the States for 14 years. The award recognizes a state for any of the following:



- Education improvement efforts that are replicable and hold valuable lessons for other states.
- Bold and courageous policies, including existing approaches with evidence of significant impact on student achievement in the state.
- Policies or programs that have bipartisan, broad-based support.

EDUCATION COMMISSION OF THE STATES CORPORATE AWARD

Education Commission of the States Corporate Award honors nonprofit organizations and for-profit corporations that have demonstrated a sustained commitment to, and investment in, improving public education, particularly efforts that reach those currently not well-served by the educational system. The award was created under the leadership



not well-served by the educational system. The award was created under the leadership of former Wyoming Gov. Jim Geringer, who served as the 1999–2000 Education Commission of the States Chair.

The Corporate Award is presented to organizations or companies that:

- Support improvement that is consistent with Education Commission of the States' priorities.
- Support promising practices to improve student outcomes.
- Enjoy broad-based support in the states or communities in which they operate.

Past Award WINNERS

JAMES BRYANT CONANT AWARD

2006 Nancy S. Grasmick

2020 Philip Uri Treisman 2005 Sharon Lynn Kagan 1991 James P. Comer 2019 AJ Crabill 1989 Fred M. Hechinger **2004** Thurgood Marshall and John H. Stelle

2018 Bill Haslam 2003 Roy Romer 1988 Lamar Alexander 2017 Lowell Milken

1987 Marian Wright Edelman 2002 Robert P. Moses 2016 Sal Khan 1986 Harold Howe II **2001** Fred Rogers

2015 William I. Sanders 2000 John Goodlad 1985 Terrel H. Bell and David P. Gardner

1980 Ralph Tyler

2014 Marc Tucker 1999 Frank Newman 1984 James B. Hunt Jr. 2013 Gene Wilhoit 1998 Robert Slavin 1983 Carl Perkins **2012** E.D. Hirsch

1997 Claiborne Pell 1982 John Brademas 2011 Ted Kolderie 1996 John W. Gardner 1981 Terry Sanford 2010 Linda Darling-Hammond 1995 Richard W. Riley

2009 Kati Haycock 1994 Ernest L. Boyer 1979 Francis Keppel

2008 Ron Wolk 1993 Wilhelmina Delco 1978 Joan Ganz Cooney

2007 Gaston Caperton 1992 Theodore R. Sizer 1977 Benjamin Mays

FRANK NEWMAN AWARD FOR STATE INNOVATION

2020 Arkansas 2012 New Hampshire 2005 Florida and Utah

2019 *Idaho* 2011 New England Secondary School 2004 North Carolina and South Carolina

Consortium 2018 Tennessee 2003 Marvland

2010 Ohio 2017 Hawaii 2002 Alabama and Texas

2009 Tennessee 2016 Mississippi 2001 Georgia

2008 North Dakota 2015 Kentucky 2000 Connecticut 2007 Alaska 2014 Illinois 1999 North Carolina

2006 Kentucky 2013 Delaware 1998 Oregon

EDUCATION COMMISSION OF THE STATES CORPORATE AWARD

2012 GE Foundation **2006** Public Broadcasting Service (PBS) 2020 Crayola

2019 *The Tennessee School Boards Association* 2011 ExxonMobil 2005 Hewlett Packard Company

2018 The IBM Foundation **2010** AT&T **2004** MBNA Corporation

2017 *Unum* 2009 Project Lead The Way 2003 Intel Corporation and Washington Mutual

2016 Newseum 2008 Simon Youth Foundation 2002 State Farm Insurance Companies

2001 MetLife and MetLife Foundation 2013 Scholastic 2007 Pearson