## Presidents and Chairs: 1965 to Present

## **EXECUTIVE DIRECTORS/PRESIDENTS**

Wendell H. Pierce, Executive Director 1967-76

Warren Hill, Executive Director 1976-80

**Robert Andringa,** Executive Director 1980-84

Frank Newman, President 1985-99

Ted Sanders, President 2000-05

Piedad F. Robertson, President 2005-06

Roger Sampson, President 2007-12

Jeremy Anderson, President 2012-23

**José Muñoz,** President 2024-Present

## **CHAIRS**

John H. Chaffee, Rhode Island 1965-66

Charles L. Terry Jr., Delaware 1966-67

Calvin L. Rampton, Utah 1967-68

Robert E. Mcnair, South Carolina 1968-69

Tom McCall, Oregon 1969-70

Russell W. Peterson, Delaware 1970-71

**Robert W. Scott,** North Carolina 1971-72

Winfield Dunn, Tennessee 1972-73

Reubin Askew, Florida 1973-74

John C. West, South Carolina 1974-75

Arch A. Moore Jr., West Virginia 1975-76

Jerry Apodaca, New Mexico 1976-77

Otis P. Bowen, Indiana 1977-78

**Dixy Lee Ray,** Washington 1978-79

William G. Milliken, Michigan 1979-80

Robert Graham, Florida 1980-81

**Robert D. Ray,** Iowa 1981-82

James B. Hunt Jr., North Carolina 1982-83

Pierre S. Dupont, Delaware 1983-84

Charles S. Robb, Virginia, 1984-85 Initiative: Business and Education Reform

Thomas H. Kean, New Jersey, 1985-86 Initiative: Teacher Renaissance: Improving Undergraduate Education

Bill Clinton, Arkansas, 1986-87 Initiative: Speaking of Leadership

John Ashcroft, Missouri, 1987-88 Initiative: Family Involvement in the Schools



## **CHAIRS**

Rudy Perpich, Minnesota, 1988-89 Initiative: Partners In Learning: Linking College Mentors With At-Risk Schools

Garrey E. Carruthers, New Mexico, 1989-90 Initiative: Sharing Responsibility for Success

Booth Gardner, Washington, 1990-91 Initiative: All Kids Can Learn

John R. Mckernan, Maine, 1991-92 Initiative: Keeping The Promises of Reform

Evan Bayh, Indiana, 1992-93 Initiatve: Education for a Revitalized Democracy

Jim Edgar, Illinois, 1993-94 Initiative: Building Communities that Support Education Reform

Roy Romer, Colorado, 1994-95 Initiative: Making Quality Count in Undergraduate Education

Tommy Thompson, Wisconsin, 1995-96 Initiative: Connecting Learning and Work

Terry Branstad, Iowa, 1996-97 Initiative: Harnessing Technology for Teaching and Learning

Zell Miller, Georgia, 1997-98 Initiative: Investing In Student Achievement

Paul E. Patton, Kentucky, 1998-99 Initiative: Transforming Postsecondary Education

Jim Geringer, Wyoming, 1999-2000 Initiative: In Pursuit Of Quality Teaching

Jeanne Shaheen, New Hampshire, 2000-01 Initiative: Early Learning: Improving Results for Young Children Kenny Guinn, Nevada, 2001-02 Initiative: Leading for Literacy

Roy Barnes, Georgia, 2002-03 Initiative: Closing the Achievement Gap

Mark Warner, Virginia, 2003-04 Initiative: High-Quality Teachers for Hard-To-Staff Schools

Mike Huckabee, Arkansas, 2004-06 Initiative: The Arts: A Lifetime of Learning

Kathleen Sebelius, Kansas, 2006-08 Initiative: Great Teachers for Tomorrow

Tim Pawlenty, Minnesota 2008-11

John Hickenlooper, Colorado 2011-13

Brian Sandoval, Nevada, 2013-15 Initiative: English Language Learners

Steve Bullock, Montana, 2015-17 Initiative: Dual Enrollment

Phil Bryant, Mississippi, 2017-19 Initiative: Early Learning

**Tom Wolf,** Pennsylvania 2019-21

Kim Reynolds, Iowa 2021-22

**Asa Hutchinson,** Arkansas, 2022-23 Initiative: Computer Science Education

Laura Kelly, Kansas, 2023-25 Initiative: Education Access for Justice-Impacted Students

