Distinguished Senior Fellows

Education Commission of the States is honored to have four education policy veterans serving as Distinguished Senior Fellows. The fellows, with expertise ranging from preschool to postsecondary and beyond, serve as advisors to the organization and to member states.

Christopher T. Cross
Chairman and Co-Founder, FourPoint Education Partners

Cross is chairman of FourPoint Education Partners, where he contributes his considerable strategic planning, policy analysis and policy development skills. Cross also currently serves as a consultant to the Broad Foundation. Cross served as a senior fellow with the Center for Education Policy, the president and chief executive officer of the Council for Basic Education, and the president of the Maryland State Board of Education. He has written extensively on education policy throughout his career.

Aimee Rogstad Guidera
President, Guidera Strategy

Guidera is a strategic consultant helping organizations align their efforts and impact in the service of improved student learning and outcomes. She most recently was the founder, president and CEO of the Data Quality Campaign, a national, nonprofit organization leading the effort to empower educators, students, parents and policymakers with the information they need to make the best decisions to improve student outcomes. She believes that information has the power to transform education to ensure every child in this country is prepared for success.

James H. Johnson, Jr.
Distinguished Professor of Strategy and Entrepreneurship and Director, Urban Investment Strategies Center, Kenan Institute of Private Enterprise at UNC–Chapel Hill

Johnson’s research interests include community and economic development, urban poverty and public policy in urban America. He is co-author of The Economic Impact of the African American Population on the State of North Carolina, among other publications.

Michael Petrilli
President, Thomas B. Fordham Institute

Petrilli is president of the Thomas B. Fordham Institute, research fellow at Stanford University’s Hoover Institution and executive editor of Education Next. He is the author of The Diverse Schools Dilemma and editor of Education for Upward Mobility. Petrilli helped to create the U.S. Department of Education’s Office of Innovation and Improvement and the Policy Innovators in Education Network.

Philip Uri Treisman
University Distinguished Teaching Professor, Professor of Mathematics and of Public Affairs, The University of Texas at Austin

Treisman is University Distinguished Teaching Professor, professor of mathematics and professor of public affairs at The University of Texas at Austin. He is the founder and executive director of the University’s Charles A. Dana Center, which works on the equity-minded improvement of American mathematics and science education at scale. He serves on the boards of many entrepreneurial nonprofit organizations committed to strengthening American mathematics and science education. He was named a MacArthur Fellow (1992-97) for his work on nurturing minority student high achievement in mathematics. In 2006, he was named Scientist of the Year by the Harvard Foundation for his contributions to mathematics. He is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.