Education Commission of the States conducted analyses of state postsecondary governance structures for the regional higher education compacts, which are based on a comprehensive summary released in March 2019. The analyses and individual state profiles for the regional compacts can be accessed below and from the interactive data visualization and 50-State Comparison pages.

Note: New Jersey, New York and Pennsylvania are not members of a regional compact.

Midwestern Higher Education Compact

Analysis of Midwestern Higher Education Compact

Member States (12): Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Kansas, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, Nebraska, North Dakota, Ohio, South Dakota and Wisconsin.

New England Board of Higher Education

Analysis of New England Board of Higher Education

Member States (6): Connecticut, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Rhode Island and Vermont.

Southern Regional Education Board

Analysis of Southern Regional Education Board

Member States (16): Alabama, Arkansas, Delaware, Florida, Georgia, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Mississippi, North Carolina, Oklahoma, South Carolina, Tennessee, Texas, Virginia and West Virginia.

Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education

Analysis of Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education

Member States (15): Alaska, Arizona, California, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Montana, Nevada, New Mexico, North Dakota, Oregon, South Dakota, Utah, Washington and Wyoming.

 PUBLISHED: May 13, 2019


 RESOURCE TYPE: Unspecified


 STATE(S): Unspecified

More on this issue